Supplementary Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories Readings


Over the past four years I’ve written over 40 blog posts linked to teaching and learning the theory and practice of counseling and psychotherapy. While procrastinating on another project, I decided to organize these blog posts by topic. If you follow the links below, they’ll take you to blog posts relevant to specific theories. Included in some of these are a few links to short (and free) theories-based video examples. If you teach a theories course, you could select some of these links to assign students outside readings or you could peruse them yourself to stimulate a few lecture ideas.

Please note that if you use our Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice textbook, there’s a bit of redundancy with the textbook’s content. However, if you don’t use the text, the material will be new to you and your students.

Chapter 1 – Opening and Overview

A Plan for Maximizing Positive Counseling and Psychotherapy Outcomes: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/09/07/a-plan-for-maximizing-positive-counseling-and-psychotherapy-outcomes/

Teaching Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories: Reflections on Week 1: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/08/29/teaching-counseling-and-psychotherapy-theories-reflections-on-week-1/

Reformulating Clinical Depression: The Social-Psycho-Bio Model: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2013/09/03/reformulating-clinical-depression-the-social-psycho-bio-model/

Chapter 2 – Psychoanalytic Approaches

Attachment-Informed Psychotherapy: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2015/08/12/attachment-informed-psychotherapy/

Chapter 3 – Adlerian Approaches: Individual Psychology

The Three-Step Emotional Change Trick: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/09/23/the-three-step-emotional-change-trick/

A Parenting Homework Assignment on Natural and Logical Consequences: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2011/11/30/a-parenting-homework-assignment-on-natural-and-logical-consequences/

More Than Praise — Other Ways Parents Can Be Positive With Their Children: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/08/16/more-than-praise-other-ways-parents-can-be-positive-with-their-children/

Chapter 4 – Existential Approaches

Reflections on Listening to Irvin Yalom at the ACA Conference: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/03/25/reflections-on-listening-to-irvin-yalom-at-the-aca-conference/

A Short Existential Case Example from Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories . . .: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2015/08/25/a-short-existential-case-example-from-counseling-and-psychotherapy-theories/

Chapter 5 – Person-Centered Approaches

Reflections on Magic: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2011/11/28/reflections-on-magic/

Listening as Meditation on Psychotherapy.net: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/02/25/listening-as-meditation-on-psychotherapy-net/

An Interview with Natalie Rogers (Daughter of Carl Rogers) about Person-Centered Therapy: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2015/08/04/an-interview-with-natalie-rogers-daughter-of-carl-rogers-about-person-centered-therapy/

Why Therapists Should Never Say, “I know how you feel”: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2013/05/30/why-therapists-should-never-say-i-know-how-you-feel/

Carl Rogers and Brain-Science do an Empathy Smackdown in Chapter 3: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2015/07/09/carl-rogers-and-brain-science-do-an-empathy-smackdown-in-chapter-3/

Chapter 6 – Gestalt Approaches

Go Go Gestalt: The Theories Video Shoot, Part I: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/04/24/go-go-gestalt-the-theories-video-shoot-part-i-2/

Chapter 7 – Behavioral Approaches

A Black Friday Tribute to Mary Cover Jones and her Evidence-Based Cookies: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2011/11/25/a-black-friday-tribute-to-mary-cover-jones-and-her-evidence-based-cookies/

Behavioral Activation Therapy: Let’s Just Skip the Cognitions: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/06/30/behavioral-activation-therapy-lets-just-skip-the-cognitions/

Imaginal or In Vivo Exposure and Desensitization: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/05/19/imaginal-or-in-vivo-exposure-and-desensitization-2/

A New Look at Time-Out for Kids and Parents: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/08/04/a-new-look-at-time-out-for-kids-and-parents/

Information on Using Time-Out — Part II: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/08/05/information-on-using-time-out-part-ii/

Talking with Parents about Positive Reinforcement: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/09/06/talking-with-parents-about-positive-reinforcement/

Backward Behavior Modification: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/12/02/backward-behavior-modification/

Chapter 8 – Cognitive-Behavioral Approaches

Positive Thinking is Not (Necessarily) Rational Thinking: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2011/12/06/positive-thinking-is-not-necessarily-rational-thinking/

How to Use the Six Column CBT Technique: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/02/18/how-to-use-the-six-column-cbt-technique/

A Quick Look at the Collaborative Cognitive Therapy Process: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/09/30/a-quick-look-at-the-collaborative-cognitive-therapy-process/

Tomorrow’s Election and Confirmation Bias: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/11/05/tomorrows-election-and-confirmation-bias/

Confirmation Bias on My Way to Spearfish, South Dakota: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/04/30/confirmation-bias-on-my-way-to-spearfish-south-dakota/

Chapter 9 – Choice Theory and Reality Therapy

The Seven Magic Words for Parents: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/12/23/the-seven-magic-words-for-parents/

Give Information and then Back-Off: A Choice Theory Parenting Assignment: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/07/09/give-information-and-then-back-off-a-choice-theory-parenting-assignment/

How Parents Can Use Problem-Solving Power: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/10/23/how-parents-can-use-problem-solving-power/

Chapter 10 – Feminist Approaches

Opening Thoughts on Feminism: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/04/03/opening-thoughts-on-feminism-3/

The Girl Code by Ashley Marallo: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/12/03/the-girl-code-by-ashley-marallo/

A Guest Essay on the Girl Code and Feminism: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/12/07/a-guest-essay-on-the-girl-code-and-feminism/

Feminist Culture in Music: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2013/11/18/feminist-culture-in-music/

Chapter 11 – Constructive (Solution-Based and Narrative) Approaches

Is Solution-Focused Therapy as Powerfully Effective as Solution-Focused Therapists Would Have Us Believe?: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/07/01/is-solution-focused-therapy-as-powerfully-effective-as-solution-focused-therapists-would-have-us-believe-2/

Secrets of the Miracle Question: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2015/03/04/secrets-of-the-miracle-question/

The Love Reframe: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2013/04/07/the-love-reframe/

Chapter 12 – Family Systems Approaches

None posted on this topic. Obviously, I need help here.

Chapter 13 – Multicultural Approaches

Four Good Ideas about Multicultural Counseling and Psychotherapy—In Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr.: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/01/16/four-good-ideas-about-multicultural-counseling-and-psychotherapy-in-honor-of-martin-luther-king-jr/

Good Ideas about Multicultural Counseling and Psychotherapy – Part II: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/01/22/good-ideas-about-multicultural-counseling-and-psychotherapy-part-ii/

Cultural Adaptations in the DSM-5: Insert Foot in Mouth Here: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2014/07/08/cultural-adaptations-in-the-dsm-5-insert-foot-in-mouth-here/

Psychic Communications . . . and Cultural Differences in Mental Status: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2013/01/02/psychic-communications-and-cultural-differences-in-mental-status/

A White Male Psychologist Reflects on White Privilege: https://johnsommersflanagan.com/2012/09/14/a-white-male-psychologist-reflects-on-white-privilege/

Chapter 14 – Integrative Approaches

None on this chapter either.

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Supplementary Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories Readings”

  1. Thank you for this resource. In graduate school I stumbled onto your Clinical Interviewing textbook and just about wore it out.

    You must *really* love us to put this amount of energy into providing us this support. Love your reframes too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s